AUTHOR INTERVIEW 15


JARRED STANTON

UNITDE STATES

ACE 24

I’m Jarred Stanton, an author from Mobile, AL. I’m a author, speaker and youth advocate. I’m married to my wife Krysten Stanton. In my spare time I coach youth sports and enjoy spending time with my loved ones. I love the youth because it offers the chance to help shape the leaders of tomorrow and mold wonderful adults that the world so desperately needs. I love sports and reading as well.
„How Zoe Made Friends” is about a 3rd grade girl with Vitiligo that has to learn to love herself. With a visible difference from the other kids, she struggles with self-esteem and low confidence. To go along with her self doubt, she faces bullying that she has to find a way to overcome. With the support of her family and her strength Zoe finally realizes that beauty is more important on the inside than the out and that she is beautiful no matter what!

Romelia: WHAT IS THE MOST DIFFICULT PART OF YOUR ARTISTIC PROCESS?

Jarred Stanton: The most difficult part of my process is finding my way to the big moments. I have so many things that will make my story really touch the reader but the detailed journey can get tough.

Romelia: DOES YOUR FAMILY SUPPORT YOUR CAREER AS A WRITER?

Jarred Stanton: Yes I believe my family supports my career.

Romelia: IF YOU HAD TO DO SOMETHING DIFFERENTLY AS A CHILD OR TEENAGER TO BECOME A BETTER WRITER AS AN ADULT, WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Jarred Stanton: I would have read more, taken it more seriously, learned more about marketing and formatting.

Romelia: HOW LONG ON AVERAGE DOES IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE A BOOK?

Jarred Stanton: Between 6 months to a year. Sometimes longer depending on how long I step away to gather more ideas.

Romelia: DO YOU BELIEVE IN WRITER’S BLOCK?

Jarred Stanton: Absolutely.

Romelia: AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK SOMEONE SHOULD CALL THEMSELVES A WRITER?

Jarred Stanton: Whenever they get ready to acknowledge themselves as such. I only called myself a poet until I shifted to works that were more serious.

Romelia: WHAT DIFFERENCE DO YOU SEE BETWEEN A WRITER AND AN AUTHOR?

Jarred Stanton: I think they are relatively the same. I just think an author is someone who’s writing content meant for distribution and publishing. A writer to me is someone who writes for the love and expression but doesn’t plan on doing anything more.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU PROCESS AND DEAL WITH NEGATIVE BOOK REVIEWS?

Jarred Stanton: I deal with negative reviews as building blocks. If it’s something retaining to how I craft my story I tend not to care. If it’s something containing more to grammar or the structure I use that to get better.

Romelia: WHAT IS THE MOST DIFFICULT PART OF YOUR WRITING PROCESS?

Jarred Stanton: Building the characters and their personalities and coming up with an ending.

Romelia: HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING OR WHEN DID YOU START?

Jarred Stanton: I started my Freshman or Sophomore year of high school and never stopped.

Romelia: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO A WRITER WORKING ON THEIR FIRST BOOK?

Jarred Stanton: Find your audience, get an editor, make sure you know where you want it to go and market yourself.

Romelia: WHAT, TO YOU, ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT ELEMENTS OF GOOD WRITING?

Jarred Stanton: Authenticity and passion for what you’re writing. Authenticity is my number 1. The story has to be as real and educational as it can be.

Romelia: WHAT COMES FIRST FOR YOU – THE PLOT OR THE CHARACTERS – AND WHY?

Jarred Stanton: The plot. Because I can bend the characters in a way that makes them experience real life. If I have a good plot, I can move my character’s emotions and obstacles to a way that really challenges them.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU DEVELOP YOUR PLOT AND CHARACTERS?

Jarred Stanton: By finding something very important or real that often gets overlooked. Things that are taken for granted are very important to me in everyday life so they’re vital in my writing.

Romelia: WHEN DID YOU FIRST CALL YOURSELF A WRITER?

Jarred Stanton: I think after I really fell in love with it.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU USE SOCIAL MEDIA AS AN AUTHOR?

Jarred Stanton: Promote and engage with others that are doing the same thing as me. I like to learn from people that are making progress that I have yet to make. I market myself the best I can.

Romelia: WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE PART OF PUBLISHING?

Jarred Stanton: Definitely marketing.

Romelia: WHAT WOULD YOU SAY TO AN AUTHOR WHO WANTED TO DESIGN THEIR OWN COVER?

Jarred Stanton: Go for it, just make sure it’s something that makes a reader want to pick it up.

Romelia: HOW MANY BOOKS HAVE YOU WRITTEN AND WHICH IS YOUR FAVORITE?

Jarred Stanton: 6 and my most recent children’s book „How Zoe Made Friends” is my favorite.

Romelia: WHAT PART OF THE BOOK DID YOU HAVE THE HARDEST TIME WRITING?

Jarred Stanton: The end was hard to put together.

Romelia: WHAT PART OF THE BOOK WAS THE MOST FUN TO WRITE?

Jarred Stanton: Zoe’s triumph and where she stands up for herself was the most fun part to write.

Romelia: WHICH OF THE CHARACTERS DO YOU RELATE TO THE MOST AND WHY?

Jarred Stanton: Definitely Zoe, I’ve always been the small nerd kid with glasses. I was quiet and smart. Some people liked me others ignored me because I looked lame. I stayed true to myself like I instilled in Zoe.

Romelia: IF YOU’RE PLANNING A SEQUEL. CAN YOU SHARE A TINY BIT ABOUT YOUR PLANS FOR IT?

Jarred Stanton: I haven’t come up with Zoe’s sequel just yet but I’m working on the first of another series that has a boy main character.

Romelia: TELL US SOMETHING FUNNY ABOUT YOUR ADULT LIFE.

Jarred Stanton: One time I jumped off a moving cart because I thought I had a wasp on me.

Romelia: describe yourself in a few sentences. Tell us something we do not know about you and something you hate about the worlD.

Jarred Stanton: I’m a realest but I’m also a very serious empathize. I love the underdog in every aspect because I love to watch them conquer. I’m an underdog myself and love who I am. Fear made me who I am. One thing I hate about the world is How people let being right mean more than being a good person.

CONTACT DETAILS:

Website: www.pdaydreamers.com

Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/LifethePoet03/?ref=bookmarks

Lasă un comentariu

Acest site folosește Akismet pentru a reduce spamul. Află cum sunt procesate datele comentariilor tale.