AUTHOR INTERVIEW 14


JASMINE BUTLER

AGE 26

Washington, DC

Jas B is a 26 year old Washington, DC native who fell in love with Urban Fiction  at the young age of 13. She is a mother of one and began her journey as an author in 2015. Pushing her fears to the side, Jas decided to submit her work to be published in 2018. Signing to Shan Presents, she released her first book, the first of a trilogy, Des & Averi: Love and War. More of her work includes Luvin the Wrong Boss, A Hip Hop Love in DC, and In My Thug I Trust. 
Ha’Shaun “Haze” Melwood’s motive was to get money by any means necessary. He stood ten toes on that logic and had businesses and schemes coming from all directions. Nothing was going to stop his bag and he’d go the extra mile to protect his peace, businesses, and money. Haze had women at his disposal and not one of them held his attention long.
Onika Kane was one of the baddest women to walk the streets of Washington, DC. With her businesses going well with Haze and her best friend by her side, she couldn’t be stopped. Trinity was there for Onika’s ups and downs, that’s what best friends were for right? But Haze was the center of her focus and she would do anything to make him her man. Will Onika and Trinity remain friends or will Haze and their separate greed for him tear them apart? 
Learning of Haze’s deceit, both Trinity and Onika find love in the middle of a battlefield. The ultimate struggle is with the heart and what side Iove will fight on. 
The Monroe triplets Kai, Kelz and Kamal have been taking the game by storm since they were teenagers. Kai takes pride in holding on to his brother’s trust, but secrets and a new woman in his life, threatens that.
Kelz is the wild one. Pulling triggers and asking questions… never. But, his life is interrupted when he has to adjust to being a full time father, and someone unexpected invades his heart. 
Then there’s Kamal, better known as the silent killer. Many would say that his heart is on ice, but not when it came to his wife Fallon. Tragedy strikes suddenly, and so does Kamal. 
Indulge in the mayhem of love, loss and betrayal to see who and what remains when the smoke clears.

Romelia: WHAT IS THE MOST DIFFICULT PART OF YOUR ARTISTIC PROCESS?

Jasmine Butler: I would have to say keeping the readers fully engaged throughout the entire book. It’s one thing to have a mid blowing idea, but to have it instantly and consistently grabbing your audiences attention is another.

Romelia: DOES YOUR FAMILY SUPPORT YOUR CAREER AS A WRITER?

Jasmine Butler: Absolutely! They’re there when I need test readers, for me to bounce ideas off of them, and do their best to share my work with others.

Romelia: IF YOU HAD TO DO SOMETHING DIFFERENTLY AS A CHILD OR TEENAGER TO BECOME A BETTER WRITER AS AN ADULT, WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Jasmine Butler: I would have taken more composition classes. I look back at my very first book and can see a tremendous change from my 10th book in how I write. From the editing, down to plot building.

Romelia: HOW LONG ON AVERAGE DOES IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE A BOOK?

Jasmine Butler: Honestly, at least 4 weeks if I stay focused.

Romelia: DO YOU BELIEVE IN WRITER’S BLOCK?

Jasmine Butler: Oh, it’s very real!

Romelia: AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK SOMEONE SHOULD CALL THEMSELVES A WRITER?

Jasmine Butler: Anyone can call themselves a writer. I think it’s and entry level title.

Romelia: WHAT DIFFERENCE DO YOU SEE BETWEEN A WRITER AND AN AUTHOR?

Jasmine Butler: I think the difference comes when the skill and talent is applied. Authors are held to a certain standard of writing. Especially when published.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU PROCESS AND DEAL WITH NEGATIVE BOOK REVIEWS?

Jasmine Butler: I take it and apply it, if it’s constructive.

Romelia: WHAT IS THE MOST DIFFICULT PART OF YOUR WRITING PROCESS?

Jasmine Butler: The synopsis! Lol, I can write an entire book and then come back and struggle on the synopsis. Along with the cover, it’s the first impression of your book that your readers get and it has to pull them in.

Romelia: HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING OR WHEN DID YOU START?

Jasmine Butler: I have been writing for almost 5 years.

Romelia: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO A WRITER WORKING ON THEIR FIRST BOOK?

Jasmine Butler: Simply just write! Don’t over think things, do not doubt yourself.

Romelia: WHAT, TO YOU, ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT ELEMENTS OF GOOD WRITING?

Jasmine Butler: I think it depends on the genre. In urban fiction, to me, I believe the structure of the story is important.

Romelia: WHAT COMES FIRST FOR YOU – THE PLOT OR THE CHARACTERS – AND WHY?

Jasmine Butler: The plot because I build my characters from my plot. The characteristics of the characters have to match the plot.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU DEVELOP YOUR PLOT AND CHARACTERS?

Jasmine Butler: My plot comes in waves of ideas that just hit me. Then I form my characters based on the plot and they honestly develop together. Once the characters can stand on their own within the plot, I then think about what that character would do.

Romelia: WHEN DID YOU FIRST CALL YOURSELF A WRITER?

Jasmine Butler: When I finally finished my first book.

Romelia: HOW DO YOU USE SOCIAL MEDIA AS AN AUTHOR?

Jasmine Butler: For marketing the most.

Romelia: WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE PART OF PUBLISHING?

Jasmine Butler: My Favorite part is actually seeing my work out there. My least favorite in getting discouraged when I think that I’m not getting the exposure or as many readers as I would like.

Romelia: WHAT WOULD YOU SAY TO AN AUTHOR WHO WANTED TO DESIGN THEIR OWN COVER?

Jasmine Butler: I would tell them that quality and creativity is everything.

Romelia: HOW MANY BOOKS HAVE YOU WRITTEN AND WHICH IS YOUR FAVORITE?

Jasmine Butler: I have written 10 books, and it’s safe to say that my last three pet series “In My Thug I Trust” is my favorite.

Romelia: WHAT PART OF THE BOOK DID YOU HAVE THE HARDEST TIME WRITING?

Jasmine Butler: The ending of series. I always try to leave my readers satisfied and fulfilled when ending a series, so I stress myself out about it.

Romelia: WHAT PART OF THE BOOK WAS THE MOST FUN TO WRITE?

Jasmine Butler: I loved writing the parts where I threw some humor into the story. 

Romelia: WHICH OF THE CHARACTERS DO YOU RELATE TO THE MOST AND WHY?

Jasmine Butler: I would say Trinity in “In My Thug I Trust” because she has a good heart even after love misleads her. She’s focused on her business, but ready to ride when necessary.

Romelia: IF YOU’RE PLANNING A SEQUEL. CAN YOU SHARE A TINY BIT ABOUT YOUR PLANS FOR IT?

Jasmine Butler: I’m contemplating on continuing this story. I didn’t have plans on keeping it going, but the readers said they want more, so we will see.

Romelia: TELL US SOMETHING FUNNY ABOUT YOUR ADULT LIFE.

Jasmine Butler: I have the worst case of road rage! And then I think about how crazy I must look screaming and no one can hear me, but me.

Romelia: describe yourself in a few sentences. Tell us something we do not know about you and something you hate about the world.

Jasmine Butler: I’m 26, I love being around genuine people. I pride myself on striving to accomplish everything I put my mind to. One thing I hate about the world is how separate we are as a people.

Lasă un comentariu

Acest site folosește Akismet pentru a reduce spamul. Află cum sunt procesate datele comentariilor tale.